Office of General Counsel

NMDOT Legal Division

The Office of General Counsel is divided into three practice areas. Contact information for each group is listed below.

Front Desk
505-795-1517

Physical Address
1120 Cerrillos Road, Room 123
Santa Fe, NM 87504-1149

Mailing Address
PO Box 1149
Santa Fe, NM 87504-1149

Administration

Kenneth B. Baca, General Counsel
505-660-8738
kenneth.baca2@state.nm.us

June Leyba, Business Support Manager
505-470-9903
june.leyba2@state.nm.us

Eliza Anaya, Legal Secretary
505-670-4186
eliza.anaya@state.nm.us

Raquel Sanchez, Legal Secretary
505-660-5295
raquel.sanchez1@state.nm.us

Operations and Finance

The Operations and Finance Practice Group addresses legal and management issues related to the NMDOT’s construction and maintenance operations, including: construction law; water rights; state and federal program environmental and funding compliance; and contractor eligibility matters.

Elizabeth Travis, Deputy General Counsel
505-231-7659
elizabeth.travis@state.nm.us

Ken Swain, Assistant General Counsel
505-231-3869
ken.swain@state.nm.us

Greg L. Cole, Assistant General Counsel
(505) 660-1024
gregL.cole@state.nm.us

Samantha Baca, Paralegal
505-660-5215
samantha.baca2@state.nm.us

Administration, Contracts & Employment

The Administration, Contracts and Employment Practice Group provides legal counsel and representation in matters of administrative/operations support, including  policy development, rulemaking, regulatory enforcement, intra- & inter-governmental agreements, contracts and procurement, grant administration, employment and labor law, civil rights, garnishments, damage claims, IPRA and torts.

Aaron Frankland, Deputy General Counsel
505-490-2730
aaron.frankland@state.nm.us

Sean Fitting, Assistant General Counsel
505-690-5191
sean.fitting@state.nm.us

John Newell, Assistant General Counsel
505-469-6411
johnp.newell@state.nm.us

Craig Kling, Assistant General Counsel
(505) 490-2696
craig.kling@state.nm.us 

Renee Montoya, Paralegal
505-660-8331
renee.montoya2@state.nm.us

Right-of-Way Practice Group

The Right of Way Practice Group assists in the acquisition of land needed to improve and widen highways, including negotiating with adjacent property owners and filing condemnation cases, when needed.  This group also advises NMDOT management on various other right-of-way issues, including the use of NMDOT rights-of-way for access, utilities, broadband deployment, and highway beautification.

Thomas Wyman, Acting Deputy General Counsel
505-469-0450
thomas.wyman@state.nm.us

William T. Moyers, Assistant General Counsel
505-469-1493
bill.moyers@state.nm.us

Deborah DeMack, Assistant General Counsel
(505) 469-8286
deborah.demack@state.nm.us

Christopher Rollins, Paralegal
505-660-7930
christopher.rollins@state.nm.us

Records and Information Management

Records Custodian
IPRA.Requests@state.nm.us
505-469-0724

IPRA Requests