New Mexico State Police Is Reminding Truck Drivers to Drive in the Right Lane

Dec 5, 2023 | Press Release

The New Mexico State Police would like to remind drivers of Commercial Motor Vehicles (CMV) of the new law passed in July of 2023 regarding driving in the right lane. New Mexico Senate Bill 102, Section 1. 66-7-376 NMSA 1978, a truck tractor shall not be driven in the left lane of a roadway except under provisions as outlined by the bill. Failure to obey could result in a penalty assessment of two hundred fifty dollars ($250) for the first and second offenses and five hundred dollars ($500) for the third offense.

The NMDOT will continue to place official signage on New Mexico Roadways to remind CMV drivers of the change as they travel through our State.

For further information, education, or questions regarding this new State Bill, please contact the New Mexico Trucking Association (NMTA) at