Research Oversight Committee (ROC)

The Research Oversight Committee (ROC) is presented summaries of NMDOT research requests by year. After thorough evaluation, the ROC will recommend a list of research projects along with a timeline for completion.

Committee Members:

  • Michael Smelker, District 2 Assistant District Engineer of Engineering
  • Rhonda Lopez, Program Management & Engineering Support Division Director
  • Denise Peralta, Asset Management & Pavement Division Director
  • Peter Koeppel, Farmington Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO)
  • Jeff Woodman, Chief Information Officer
  • Ron Shutiva, Tribal Liaison


Greg Heitmann, FHWA NM Division Coordinator
Shannon R. Vigil, Research Bureau ROC Coordinator

Dr. Hao Yin

Chief, Research Bureau
7500B Pan American Fwy NE
Albuquerque, NM 87109
Research Bureau NMDOT